WYRDE WOODS

REVIEWS 



SEE OUR COLLECTION

LORD OF THE WYRDE WOODS

This is where it all began back in 2014. Escape from Neverland and Dance into the Wyrd were written as one novel, and then split into two separate novels mainly because the cost of a single large novel would have been prohibitive from an unknown and untested author. Every now and then I'll have a closer look at these two novels, fearing shame at re-encountering my debut effort, and conclude that I'm pleasantly surprised instead, and still darn proud of Wenn o' the Farisees and her adventures in the Wyrde Woods. 

Secrets of the Wyrde Woods

When I completed Dance into the Wyrd I strongly felt that the Wyrde Woods had far more to offer as a setting. Combine this with the unexpected popularity of secondary characters such as Joy Whitfield and Willick Maskall, as well as my non-fictional research into 1940s archery, which had revealed newspaper reports on gangs of armed kids preparing to defend their commons or local woods against potential German invaders, and a new series was born: SECRETS OF THE WYRDE WOODS.


 As Joy had to wait for a few months before the appearance of Willick, who had his own wartime experiences to live through first (Will's War in Brighton), she needed a counterpart, and thus lively Maisy Robbins made her entry. Intended as a secondary character, Maisy's part grew to such an extent that she became Joy's equal.


The next installment, HIDDEN SPRING,  is currently a work in progress.

Not quite, but close enough

Wills War: Exile from Brighton, is the sequel to Will's War in Brighton, and historical fiction, rather than historical fantasy. Exile can be read as a stand-alone novella, as the definitive conclusion to the story started in Will's War in Brighton, and/or as a tale recounting events in between FORGOTTEN ROAD and HIDDEN SPRING. This story recounts Will Maskall's arrival at Maskall Farm in the Wyrde Woods, his initial encounters with Maisy and Joy, and the gradual bond of friendship that grows between the three children. It is entirely possible to read FORGOTTEN ROAD and go on to HIDDEN SPRING  without reading Exile,  but Wyrde Woods fans won't be disappointed with this short and sweet 'inbetweener'. 

REVIEWS: WYRDE WOODS OVERALL


Mr. Visser is a writer of phenomenal talent and he deserves credit for his ability to balance good and bad, joy and terror, love and hate, in a tale that never wears but always intrigues. His powers of description paint a wonderful picture of the places both inviting and foreboding. And Wenn is not his only triumph in terms of character. She is stunningly real but the peripheral characters also shine, each with a background unique to themselves and as wholly believable as is Wenn herself.

(Amazon, 12 January 2016)


Nils’s books should resonate with anyone who loves Sussex and is frustrated by the rate at which our countryside is being eaten up in the name of progress. They are set in the Sussex Weald where beautiful woodlands steeped in ancient history and magic are under threat from a wicked construction company. The stories aren’t really as quaint as they sound…rather gritty in fact…but they are a great read. I love the resurrection of the great old Sussex saying “Sussex wun’t be druv” – it is so true and should be LAMB’s battle cry! Definitely get yourself a copy.

(LAMBS (Locals Against Mayfield Building Sprawl)


REVIEWS: ESCAPE FROM NEVERLAND (Lord of the Wyrde Woods book one)

INSANELY WELL WRITTEN. To be honest, I’m quite selective as to which books I read. Especially concerning fantasy. A lot of authors feel they can write an epic as well as Tolkien or C.S. Lewis can when their actual writings are full of plot holes, errors in metaphysics and their story is a downright bore. This, on the other hand, is one of those rare jewels you only find once or twice in a decade. The story is very captivating, I couldn’t stop reading once I started. The plotlines are very original, language is perfect.

(BolCom, 25 August 2015)


Full of fantasy, good plot, the story drags you in, tense.

(BolCom, 19 April 2015)


Whether it was in her mind or in her dreams or was indeed real, I will never know because the author intertwines Wendy with Wenn in the woods, the Wyrde Woods, that she found herself in. I will say no more, just read it and see but be prepared for some scary times, sad times but also good times, along the way…

(GoodReads, 13 April 2015)


A great read! Very creative and imaginative. I really enjoyed it.

(GoodReads, 5 August 2015)


A new writer to my library. Loved his characters, they were believable, his writing great.

(Amazon, 22 May 2015)


I eagerly followed Wendy escape her residential institution into the Wyrde woods. Here she revelled in the nature and the history of this new to her, environment. It felt like I had been to these woods before. Looking forward to more.

(Amazon, 23 November 2014)

The book read well, was wonderfully evocative of times and places and showed a high level of characterisation. You really began to care for the characters and want to know what happened to them. There is a rich depth of folklore in the book but it wears lightly. I strongly recommend this book and author and look forward to his next works.

(GoodReads, 26 May 2015)


The story is based around the central character Wendy, cleverly introduced as a somewhat troubled, combative teen who is soon revealed to be a complex, interesting individual. Essentially the story demonstrated that environment is everything, or as good as. Take someone who appears to be nothing more than a problem to a wider world, a rejected non-member of society – and transplant her to a completely different environment, and often a positive results ensues. This is what really makes the book for me. It’s about transcending the grim confines of a life from which no escape was thought possible, and it’s about the importance of family – the people who have the patience, insight, wisdom and love to provide security and second chances, no matter the past.

(Amazon, 6 April 2015)


Sheer pleasure for Anglophiles and Fantasy enthusiasts! This book was a fantastic twist; I loved all the characters involved, and I lover the way I was made to care for them, especially Wendy. I experienced the Wyrde Woods through her eyes, taking in the rich detail and filling my imagination with the fascinating lore. Oh, and the added feature of the bouncing, rolling Sussex accent was marvellous! I am definitely enthralled b this book! All urban/contemporary fantasy enthusiasts would do well to purchase a copy for themselves at once! It does not disappoint!

(Amazon, 22 March 2016)


Reading this first book of the Wyrde Woods chronicle is a spellbinding experience. The promise for a whole chronicle of these books with their fascinating dialogues and way of drawing you into the plot is one I appreciate, I do hope there will be more. Nils Visser can be seen as the next writer in the generation of magical realists.

(Amazon, 4 November 2014) 

I enjoyed this book so very much. It was a slightly new genre for me but as I saw it was set in my beloved Sussex I had to read it. The Sussex language is there in all its glory and I found myself using the words in everyday conversations. I loved the book so much I read the follow-on book straight after. The characters are great, really credible and I had mental images of them all and shared their experiences. I’m looking forward to reading more of this author’s work. I would recommend these books to anyone from teens onwards.

(Amazon, 21 January 2016)


LOVED IT. From the relatability of the characters to the fascinating lore, to the marvellous character development and compelling plot! Wendy as narrator has a distinct voice that is uniquely hers, and it was wonderfully distinct from the dialogue of the other characters. I love the brilliant Sussex accent so cleverly phrased; I love the tender, no-nonsense wisdom of Joy and Willick; I love the portrayal of Puck. This is a fantastic start and a beautiful world and I really enjoy the author’s writing style!

(GoodReads, 19 March 2016)


Exciting, convincing and very realistic. It is now 5 weeks ago that I was reading it, but still, the story and its images come back again and again, especially if I walk in my own Wyrde Woods. Here is a gifted author at work; that becomes clear from the marvellous dialogues and from the ability of the author to create added value: a forest becomes more than a forest. The author knows how to wrap up significant themes with attractive, suspenseful and humorous narratives, without forcing upon us his messages and visions.

(Amazon, 19 December 2014)


A refreshing approach to Fantasy. No standard mystical realm with your wizard, young warrior and feisty princess. You really get a sense that the protagonist could live around the corner. The countryside characters are strong, a homage to a way of life which is endangered, and in that sense they live in a truly different world without, as the author promises, magical gateways to fantastical kingdoms. The ‘parrellel’ world is there, but how often do suburbanites connect with it? Obviously not enough, if there is a moral, it is to go for a brisk walk in the nearby countryside. The ‘fantasy’ is, in a funny way, down-to-earth. These are real English dragons, faeries and spirits, more often than not ‘present’ without making a physical appearance, but you sense they’re probably hiding behind an oak tree spying on the events in these woods and there are hints they will appear at some point. Looking forward to Book Two.

(Amazon, 16 October 2014)


Throughout the book you follow Wendy/Wenn on her journey and really get to know her as if she were someone you may actually know in real life. The characters are colourful and wonderful and I loved them all. The dialogue was witty and well-written and this story was all round really interesting and brilliantly done.

(Amazon, 17 June 2015)

On her first journey through the Wyrde Woods, troublemaker Wendy Twyner turns into Wenn. There the Twyner-girl caught me, totally. I loved her encounter with Willick whose local speech supported my experience of the change of scenery in a remarkable manner. Wyrde Woods drew me in as it did with Wenn. Back at the youth care institution the girl struggles, but her experience of real care and interest from her new Wyrde Woods friends gradually allows her to gain and keep control, lower her guards, admit grief and open up to change. A great read that moved me profoundly.

(GoodReads, 7 July 2015)


I can’t wait to go back to the Wyrde Woods! I love it when a book makes you care about the characters. Wenn is relatable because she is flawed and real and her triumphs and good news become the reader’s triumphs and good news. Joy and Willick and Puck become your family and even the places (the woods, Neverland) have a personality. I was completely transported into Wenn’s world and I grinned like a loon for most of it. Can’t wait to dive into the next book.

(GoodReads, 30 August 2015)


The book seemed different from your normal run of fantasy books, much more grounded in the real world and with flawed but realistic characters. The main character of the book is a troubled and vulnerable young woman who is seeking safety and purpose in life. For me, the book is her journey to finding family and a home but it can never be a smooth journey and the end uncertain. Coupled with this is a need to protect the natural world. The book does cover some eco themes but wears both it politics and knowledge lightly. It can be read on several levels. Though a faerie story, this book is more suited to adults.

(Amazon, 26 October 2015)


The single most important task of any book I happen to pick up and start reading is to make me are about the characters involved. An interesting plot, skilled use of language and an author’s evident love for their creation are also essential. These things, combined with my less than great attention span, mean that I sometimes lose interest in a book and move on to something else. Happily, Nils Visser’s thoroughly impressive ESCAPE FROM NEVERLAND (the first book in a series) not only ticks all the right boxes but is written and delivered with a charm and passion that had me glued to the story and turning page after page.

(Amazon, 6 April 2015)


This is a lovely book. Although set in the modern world it manages to evoke the sense of timelessness that is the hallmark of the mythical. It’s a dream-time book, a gateway to the unconscious with Jungian archetypes brought vividly to life on every page. But above all it’s an enthralling tale, with some charmingly delightful sub-plots in which the author creates a folklore all of his own. I’m really looking forward to Book Two. Just one warning: when you buy this book be prepared for some late nights. It’s a very difficult book to put down.

(Amazon, 22 October 2014)

The moment I picked up the book, it was hard to put it down again. That’s probably why I finished the story in three days. I can’t wait to read the next book and where the adventure is going to lead. I personally love fairy tales and especially how they were represented in this book, in a way I haven’t read before.

(GoodReads, 7 May 2015)


I wanted to thank you for writing this book and your writing style; which I liked very much. The book was a real escape and you wrote it all in away that made it completely possible for me to recreate the Wyrde Woods in real life.

(Private Message, FB, 17 August 2015)


I was caught by the story which never got boring. And while I was reading I was part of the main character and also part of the Wyrde Woods. I climbed trees, ran over the paths and also joined a pint o’ Harvey’s Dark Mild at Earl’s Barrel. In combination with the language the author used, like combining slang, Sussex words and own inventions, this book is an adventure to read.

(BolCom, 6 September 2015)


It took me a while to get into the story, but then I was well and truly hooked. I liked the language of the Wyrde Woods, the literary allusions and I think Nils Visser has done a great job creating this new and wonderful world.

(GoodReads, 21 October 2015)


Wenn is relatable to so many people because she is angry, frustrated and mostly misunderstood. This irrationality is so familiar to all teenagers and therefore a must read for any person that loves to escape into the world of books. The author mixed magic and reality so well that the story feels like it could really happen. You feel so connected to the characters, their misery and joy are so intertwined and the book has an amazing way of telling that tale. A MUST READ!

(GoodReads, 6 September 2015)

This is truly one of the best books I’ve read in a long, long time. Coming of age stories are hardly uncommon and such stories told within the confines of a British reform school for troubled youth is, arguably, a trope of the highest order. Nonetheless, the author presents the reader with such a compelling and believable character in his Wendy (Wenn) Twyner, that he breathes new life into an old genre. Wenn is no Pevensie child, she is the product of a home of which she has little to no memories and is often angry, bitter and combative. Then the author introduces an element of the fantastic that feels perfectly grounded in Wenn’s cold, hard and largely uncaring world in the form of her discovery of the “Wyrde Woods” that exist, literally, just beyond the confines of her reform school. In those woods, Wenn discovers what her life has lacked for so long: fun, excitement, adventure, and, more importantly, friendship based in something other than shared hardship. She also finds as time goes on and she visits the Wyrde Woods when she can get time away from school that not all is fairytale nice in those woods. Her new friends, both young and old, bear the scars of their own personal journeys and a threat exists to not only them but also to those woods she has come to love. I enjoyed reading “Escape from Neverland” tremendously and am eager to dive right back into the Wyrde Woods in the follow-up, “Dance into the Wyrd”.

(Amazon, 12 January 2016)

REVIEWS: DANCE INTO THE WYRD (Lord of the Wyrde Woods book two)


KICKS ASS!!

(GoodReads, 28 August 2015)


This story transports you to the Wyrde Woods even more than the first book in the series. I found myself getting lost in this one and very much looking forward to further tales! I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a middling good yarn!

(GoodReads, 20 June 2015)


Beautiful, stunning, intense, vicious, and brilliant all in one. I read it in basically one sitting. I just couldn’t stop. It kept me flipping pages, perched on the edge of my seat. A series of poignant scenes of breathtaking beauty.

(GoodReads, 1 August 2016)


I’ve just finished this wonderful book, but I still find my imagination wandering off into the Wyrde Woods. Lead characters differed greatly from the blokes in my works and the books I usually read. As an epic fantasy fan, I never thought I’d be identifying with a young woman on the edge of seventeen. Nils Visser spins a captivating yarn. It’s very hard to put this book down. For a different kind of fantasy, go for a trek in the Wyrde Woods. Highly recommended!

(GoodReads, 31 October 2017)


The Wyrde Woods series are beyond doubt worth reading, they transport and move. The Woods themselves become so much alive that they draw you in. The characters are vivid and real, the complicated storylines sound, the local language enriching…and I cannot wait to read book 3!

(GoodReads, 25 July 2015)

I spent the last few days tied to your book: Dance into the Wyrd. Once again, I nearly merged with Wenn o’ the Farisees and the Wyrde Woods. And so, once again, I want to thank you for another beautiful adventure! Hopefully there is a part 3 in progress? Please say yes!

(PM Review, 29 April 2016)


This is a more than a worthy successor to the author’s previous “Escape from Neverland”. Picking up almost immediately from the rather abrupt ending of “Escape”, “Dance” continues the tale of Wendy “Wenn” Twyner and her friends from both the Odesby Juvenile Care Home and also those from the outside, particularly those of the Wyrde Woods. New friends are also introduced, all with the same depth and attention to detail that the author used to rather stunning success before. Darker than before (by a degree at least), the story is progressively more dominated by the existential threat to the Wyrde Woods posed by Puck’s aunt, Catherine Malheur, who effectively becomes the story’s “big bad”. However, as Wenn and Puck grow more and more involved in the effort to save the woods from being levelled for a freeway, the author never forgets that his characters are real people and not just activist tropes. Wenn’s background in particular is delved into in a way that is as wholly realistic and it is bot hopeful and heart-breking. As for the ending: the less said, the better. Suffice to say that if you love magic and action in your YA fiction, put on your rubbers and grab an umbrella because a torrent awaits you. A box of tissues might not be a bad idea either. I very highly recommend this novel for pretty much anyone who enjoys a rollicking tale that thrills while also satisfying the need for deep characters.

(Amazon, 13 June 2016)


Most enjoyable book I’ve read for a while. The characters are well presented and very intriguing, drawing the reader into their different stories. I couldn’t help but care about them and their fates, making this book impossible to put down.

(Amazon, 22 February 2015)


Believe me, you can’t read Lord of the Wyrde Woods book two without a handkerchief near your tablet. Wendy finds her roots in the Wyrde Woods, falls in love but is also drawn deeper and deeper into the stories and culture of the Wyrde Woods. She has to make some very difficult decisions and during all of this she develops into Wenn o’ the Farisees, making those changes that come with growing up. The tension grows on every page and towards the second half you’re taken on a rollercoaster which keeps you reading till the battery of your tablet gives up the ghost.

(Amazon, 16 November 2014)

I’ve read both books and must admit I was a bit sceptical at first. Perhaps due to some over-feeding of Fantasy books. But when I started, I couldn’t stop anymore. Both books are written very cleverly and keep your attention drawn. The setting of Wyrd in modern times as just amazing. At no time did it go off on an airy chase of make-believe. Even when fantasy came into the stories, it was utterly believable.

(Amazon, 22 December 2014)


WYRDE AND EVEN MORE WONDERFUL. I have finished reading Book Two and is has left me wanting more. The story starts to gather pace and before you know it starts twisting and turning in unexpected directions; offering surprise and a few well-placed sucker-punches on the way to an epic final confrontation which will decide the fate of the Wyrde Woods and the main protagonists. The ‘connections’ that make up the ‘Wyrd’ are very much present as all seems to come together in the end; blending not only the suburban and rural realities, but also those of the shadow-world and Pook’s Hall. In all this the author doesn’t forget to add moments of comic relief as well as a few fascinating openings to the prequels and sequel. I say, bring them on, these other books. I for one, can’t wait to go back to the Wyrde Woods.

(Amazon, 16 November 2014)


In this story Wenn gets to know the Wyrde Woods better and gets involved in actions to protect these woods where she for the first time feels at home. The love for the boy she has fallen for only deepens. When I arrived at the half of the story, it took me on a wild ride and I stayed on until the end leaving me hoping for the ride to keep going. I was very happy to read in the afterword that there is another book coming, I’m really looking forward to reading it. Nils did a splendid job presenting the mind of a teenage girl. Sometimes I forget that it’s a man who wrote this, not the girl herself. Puck seems a bit too good to be true, but you understand why when you read the afterword. For anyone that decides to read the book (and you should!), I recommend to keep a tissue in reach because there were moments I had to cry.

(GoodReads, 19 July 2015)

Having read “Escape from Neverland” I avidly awaited te release of this, the second volume in the chronicles of the Wyrde Woods. Up front: I wasn’t disappointed! The already vivid characters have gained more depth, the tale develops, sometimes at breakneck speed. As I wrote in my review of “Escape” you can really laugh and cry with these “people” (I have just given up calling them characters). And you will…No more spoilers from me, get it, read it… I am now waiting for further volumes…These books are highly addictive!

(Amazon, 7 July 2015)


The sequel to “Escape from Neverland”…is a great read – in fact I enjoyed it even more than the first book. This may well be because I knew many of the characters already so there was no initial struggle – I got right into the book from the beginning. It certainly has a darker, more urgent feel – the settings from the first book – mystical woods, drab town and care home (forming an excellent counterpoint to each other) are in place and are expanded on, and from early on the story picks up the pace, building the tension excellently, so that the last third of the book, where one could say that all hell breaks loose, is exhilarating even if it’s been coming for a while and is expected. Visser has worked out a way of pacing the story masterfully. Aside from that, the reader is given the impression that no one is safe from the events in the book – an excellent way of ensuring that readers care about characters. There are surely few things worse than that feeling of dull resignation from knowing that certain characters are “safe” come what may. I’m reminded at times of The Wicker Man, and of Ben Wheatley’s more occult-ish works, which is no bad thing at all. Read “Escape from Neverland” and then read “Dance into the Wyrd”. And then nag the author to create a third book (which I believe is going to happen at some point). I’ll be getting a copy. A great read and excellent characterisation.

(GoodReads, 12 August 2015)


I connected with the main characters. I cried with them, laughed with them and actually got really angry with the author as I progressed in the story about the choices he made. I felt for the characters as they became a part of my life. The book reads as if you are watching a movie. Scene by scene the different images passed through my mind, that is the level of detail and research the author has put in these books. I truly cannot wait for the next book to be finished and for me to long for a novel with that intensity, that hasn’t happened since I started reading Harry Potter and the Wheel of Time novels. Just start reading and let yourself be carried away, for a whole new world will unfold before your mind’s eye.

(BolCom, 25 August 2015)

REVIEWS: FORGOTTEN ROAD (Secrets of the Wyrde Woods book one)


This is the third book I have read in the author’s Wyrde Woods series. He has introduced new characters, a firm friendship, kinship and hardship amongst his mighty Wyrde Woods which hold more secrets than one; set against a backdrop of the threat of invasion, again from more sources than one. I found this story most entertaining and interesting all the way through as every chapter brought it’s own page-turners.

(GoodReads, 16 October 2015)


The author has done it again! What? He’s transported me to another time and place so well that I lose track of the present! This, fourth book of the “Wyrde Woods” takes u back to the 1940s, with a different, but converging, perspective to “Will’s War in Brighton”. I find all of his books captivating…as with the three predecessors books I started to reread this one as soon as I finished it. In fact, I’ve started rereading all of them! No spoilers here, but I will say that if you have read and enjoyed any of his books, then you will enjoy this one too…

(Amazon, 2 November 2015)


This is the third Wyrde Woods story I have read by Visser, the other two being Escape from Neverland and Dance into the Wyrd. As with his other books I found this an enjoyable read. As well as having an interesting story line he does a lot of research on the period and actual historical facts. Forgotten Road is set in Sussex during the war in the 1940s and follows an evacuee’s move there from London. From city to country is a dramatic change for a girl and the author manages to capture her experiences by describing the sights, sounds and feelings admirably. This thoroughly good read about friends and foes makes me want to read more of Visser’s fantasy fiction.

(Amazon, 18 October 2015)


Reading this book felt like putting on a warm jumper and sitting by a fire with a warm cocoa. The writing style was welcoming, characterisation of both adults and children was very strong and places well imagined. The book was well researched but wore its learning lightly. The book basically explores a community at war with all the petty prejudices and concerns of any small village. The fantasy elements are drawn from the folklore of Sussex and do not overshadow the book. They fit in naturally and do not seem forced.

(Amazon, 2 January 2016)

History, mixed with fantasy, mixed with teenage antics, mixed with magic, blurred into an awesome story that doesn’t miss a beat. This is the fourth book I’ve read by Mr. Visser and by now, the Woods he’s created are becoming very familiar to me. That being said, he never ceases to amaze me with the turns and twists of the plot. Sometimes very subtle, sometimes huge, but always keeping me on the edge of my seat. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed this historic fantasy, which takes elements of Old Lore and combines them with a WW2 setting, jostling in the thoughts and experiences of a bunch of teens that see their world changing in every direction. Not the least of all: the threat of German invasion, which takes up a lot of their lives and is an intricate part of the story. Finally…to add one ‘negative’ factor to this review: It will take FAR too long for the next instalment to be published!!!  Give us MORE!!!

(Amazon, 19 October 2015)


This was a perfect book to serve as an escape from every day life, into a world which draws you in and takes you on a real adventure. Maisy is such a likeable character, and she takes you on her journey as a willing companion. Very well written.

(Amazon, 21 December 2015)


A brilliant kaleidoscopic story, seen through the eyes of children and adults in the struggle against the German threat and other dangers in the Wyrde Woods near a small Sussex village in wartime England. It starts with a London evacuee girl called Maisy whose behaviour and wits sometimes provokes the locals. Her new friend Joy, daughter of a main guardian of very old secrets in the Wyrde Woods, is also at odds with some in the village. Maisy and Joy plan their own defence of the Wyrde Woods against the German threat – but some in the area would welcome a German invasion. Their adventures are not without risk for the kids, or their family. The story shows how wartime changes both adults and kids and at times leaves you breathless while you read. The main point of views are Maisy and Joy but others are represented as well and you start to feel all the ups-and-downs of their emotions. The Wyrde Woods have a reality of their own – old lore turns out to be alive and well and events have been foretold as some things in the Wyrde Woods have no borders in either time or space. A masterpiece compatible with Harry Potter as far as I am concerned. Definitely worth the read.

(Amazon, 9 January 2016)


One is slowly, but credibly led from the ‘real’ world into the heart of the story, the heart of the Wyrde Woods

(Amazon, 14 January 2016)


Having already fallen for the world of the Wyrde Woods in Nils’s first two books, I was waiting with baited breath for new chapters in the strange goings on of the place. But I was a little worried when I found out it was going to be set in World War Two, I could relate very easily to the road protests and teenage lives and loves of Escape from Neverland…but 1940s Maisy and Joy? This was not my world. So how come Mr Visser still managed to grab hold of my imagination so fully once again? It’s because of the wonderful sense of timelessness that comes over me when I enter those woods, that no matter when in history we arrive, we are still going to find adventures of wide eyed youths and teenage lovers, and in this case, German spies and Lakota warriors, plus all the Wyrdeness that I know exists from the ancient woodlands that I also played in as a child. It would be a hard heart indeed not to fall for Maisy and Joy and be cheering them all the way on their adventures, can’t wait for the next instalment to see what darkness lies in wait for our heroes. Mr Gaiman himself would be hard pushed to create a world with more wonder than the Wyrde Woods.

(Amazon, 7 April 2016)